Houston Public Media Foundation


The Houston Public Media Foundation (formerly known as the Association for Community Broadcasting) serves to secure the financial future of Houston Public Media and to cultivate and engage community resources to support its mission of opening minds, changing lives and enriching the quality of life in Southeast Texas.

The Houston Public Media Foundation, a Houston-based non-profit organization, was originally incorporated in 1969 as the Association for Community Television. ACT worked in support of KUHT by holding on-air auctions, special events such as tennis and golf tournaments, and played a leading role in the capital campaign for a state-of-the-art public broadcast facility. As a result of that "Campaign for Public Broadcasting," in May, 2000 the LeRoy and Lucile Melcher Center for Public Broadcasting became the new home of KUHT and KUHF, both licensees of the University of Houston System.

In 2005 the organization was transformed into The Association for Community Broadcasting to incorporate community support and fundraising activity for both HoustonPBS and Houston Public Radio. The partnership that was created by ACB’s establishment is helping both stations meet the challenges of a changing future in the media industry. ACB created the Association for Community Broadcasting Endowment Fund in 2007 to fulfill the need for stable, long-term funding for Houston public broadcasting. In 2014, the organization was again changed to the Houston Public Media Foundation, following the consolidation of HoustonPBS and Houston Public Radio into a single organization.

The Houston Public Media Foundation assists Houston Public Media staff with fundraising efforts. In addition to personal gifts of support, Houston Public Media Foundation Board members go on calls with staff, write letters of support and serve as ambassadors for public broadcasting in the community on a local and national level. The Houston Public Media Foundation also is involved in many special events and activities that help raise funds for Houston Public Media. Board members secure sponsorships and auction items, sell tickets and serve on committees while regularly attending events for Houston Public Media.

Board of Directors 2013-2014



Immediate Past Chairman George Connelly

Chairman Janice Hale-Harris

President Ron Rand

Secretary/Treasurer Stephen Schwarz



Andrew Gardener

Vivek Kavadi

Butch Mach

Lynn Mathre

Larry Payton

Helen Shaffer

Karen Sherlock

M. A. Shute

Barrett Sides



Lisa Trapani Shumate
Executive Director and General Manager, Houston Public Media

Eloise Dunn Stuhr
Vice President for University Advancement, University of Houston

Julius Glickman

Robert Larkins

Patricia Laurent

Rollie McGinnis

Dennis Murphree

Jeffrey Stone

Mary Fay Way

John White

Rick Wittenbraker